They Welcomed Me

July 19, 2016: Feast

I woke up one morning in a distant village about thirty kilometers from Lilongwe, Malawi. I followed the scent of ground corn and grilled vegetables spreading through the morning mist, leading me to a group of twenty villagers sitting in a circle around a tribal cloth awaiting my arrival. They welcomed me with a breakfast feast.

I woke up one morning in an apartment in a bustling district of Cairo, Egypt. I followed the scent of falafel, fool medames, burnt pita bread, tomato, feta cheese and Turkish coffee, leading me to a dining table with fifteen family members awaiting my arrival. They welcomed me with a breakfast feast.

I arrived one afternoon in a suburb of Delhi, India. I followed the scent of yellow curry, daal, biryani, samosa and mango lassi, leading me to another dining table with twenty family members awaiting my arrival. They welcomed me with a lunch feast.

I arrived one afternoon in a remote village outside of Osaka, Japan. I followed the scent of grilled rockfish, fresh ginger, mushrooms and leeks, leading me to a tent where I found five family members awaiting my arrival. They welcomed me with a lunch feast.

After a nap, I found myself in a cottage somewhere in Toulouse, France. I followed the scent of fresh baguettes, goat cheese, escargot, steak, potato gratin and red wine, leading me to a dining table with six friends awaiting my arrival. They welcomed me with a dinner feast.

After a long flight, I found myself in a suburban home in Kansas City, USA. I followed the scent of grilled hamburgers, ribs, cornbread, watermelon salad and corn on the cob, leading me to a backyard with twenty friends awaiting my arrival. They welcomed me with a dinner feast.

I slept well each night, anticipating where in the world I will wake up next.

 

2 thoughts on “They Welcomed Me

Leave a Reply

