Fork and Custom

May 27, 2016: Fork

Use a fork and knife, my mother would tell me. I listened, and I got used to it. I believed it. I learned how to use chopsticks later. The victory of learning a new task was liberating. I learned how to be comfortable using only a fork later, when I didn’t need a knife. The new habit felt strange. The first time I was offered a fork and a spoon, I was confused. This also felt strange, and incorrect. I looked across the table and noticed that others were comfortable with just forks, or forks with spoons. No knives here. Another time, people were eating rice with their hands. No forks, no spoons, no knives. Only fingers and bread. Habit, custom, diversity, adaptation, friction, liberation. Yet we all ate.

 

Leave a Reply

